Strawbale & Mud Plaster: My Warmest Winter Yet!

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

My winter digs. Notice the Teardrop in the background. My winter digs. Notice the Teardrop parked in the background. That’s a solar oven in front, which obviously does not work when it snows.

The Teardrop is not for overwintering. It’s not so much the cold that would drive me crazy, but the limited daylight hours. Too many five-hour evenings in such a small space aren’t good for the soul. This year, I’m lucky enough to be spending my fourth winter in the backcountry near Cerrillos, New Mexico, a place that’s off the grid and off the map and as close to home as I’ve found in all my wanderings.

I’m staying in a little one room hut with a sleeping loft. It’s not fancy – the walls are literally made of straw and dirt – but it’s by far the warmest place I’ve ever wintered. Between the thick walls, big south-facing windows and a kick-ass woodstove, it’s often t-shirt…

View original post 739 woorden meer

Geef een reactie

