Hiking In Hunting Season

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

My black bears in Maine, all decked out for hunting season

Fall is my favorite hiking season, with one major drawback: it’s also hunting season. I don’t have a problem sharing the woods with sportsmen, as long as they hunt responsibly, but being around flying bullets does tend to put me on edge, especially with two dogs who look a lot like black bears.

My dogs in turkey mode.

Hunting season doesn’t mean you have to stay home, but it is important to take some precautions before you hit the trail.

First, check the rules for your area. Generally, archery season starts in early October and gun season starts in mid-November and runs through January, but seasons varies from state to state and location to location.

Confusing, right? To be on the safe side, I consider hunting season to run from October through January.

Modeling my blaze orange fall jacket…

View original post 442 woorden meer

Geef een reactie

